I love self-checkout lanes.

I’m not a fan of small talk. I can fake it if necessary, but I really have to force myself to appear interested and friendly. It’s not that I don’t care about people, it’s just that if I’m going to say something, I want it to be meaningful and important. I just don’t see the point in exchanging general pleasantries like “how are you?” or “how’s your day going?” with random strangers. I’m sure they don’t really care how my day is going, yet society dictates that we make this small talk.

That being said, I sure love self-checkout lanes at grocery stores! If they are an option at a store I am shopping at, I will use these lanes 100% of the time. It saves me having to talk to a random person whom I would otherwise forget moments after leaving the store. For me, the less human interaction while shopping, the better. I prefer to do my own thing in the store, leisurely peruse the aisles, and check out by myself.

It’s too bad that Trader Joe’s, one of my favorite grocery stores, does not have self check-out yet. Granted, their employees are always super friendly and pleasant to be around. However, sometimes I simply do not feel like uttering a single word, and it would be nice to be able to check myself out there without having to seem rude by not engaging in conversation.

2 thoughts on “I love self-checkout lanes.

  1. I too love self checkout, There are a small percentage of cashiers who are rude who you can avoid, Avoid the queue, Compare how ATM helped banking. Wondering why they are not there despite the advancement in technology.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

