I was hiding, but have not disappeared.

Hello Reader!

After over a year of hiatus, I have decided to return to blogging. I don’t know why I abandoned this in the first place-I probably just got caught up in my job. Now that I feel more settled, back to writing I go.

As we enter into the new year, I have been doing a lot of reflecting as well as planning. I want to establish personal goals for myself so I have something to work towards. Upon reflecting on 2016, I don’t feel like I accomplished a whole lot. I probably am just being hard on myself, but that’s the story of my life. I’ve always been hard on myself.¬†Besides work, I didn’t really do anything significant with myself and I’d like to do more with my life this year. But what?

One of my main goals for 2017 is to find a new project to work on in my free time. I feel like my life’s purpose is to serve and help others. Life is just not fulfilling or meaningful unless I am doing something to help others. If anyone read any of my previous posts, you would have learned that I got a job working with people with disabilities. I am still in that job, and loving it! I kind of stumbled into the job not knowing what to expect, but wanted to give it a try. I was thinking it would be a good experience to tie me over until I found my “true calling.” Little did I know when I applied, that this field may be my true calling after all…

I get so much gratification out of my work, knowing that I act as a positive influence in people’s lives and that I can give them the support they deserve. Life is hard enough, and if I can help make it a bit brighter or easier for someone, then I am happy with my work. Nothing warms my heart more than receiving positive feedback and words of gratitude from the individuals I support. Although it can definitely be challenging at times, I absolutely love working with this population and can see myself doing so for the long term. I feel like I can be my true, strange self around them and they welcome and embrace it! I am so happy to be able to enjoy going to work everyday and be greeted by a caring and accepting work environment.

Back to my goal of having a new project…I’m not 100% sure what I want to do yet, but I’d like to find a worthwhile volunteer project. I’ll keep my eyes open for new volunteer opportunities where I can help others in need. Perhaps helping youth, homeless, terminally ill or any kind of disadvantaged population. I’m sure the right opportunity will come along in time. I just want to help as many people as I can. Stay tuned…

Oh and another goal for 2017? Continue with this blog. Even if only one person reads it-heck only if I read it-I find it cathartic to write out my thoughts and feelings. Some things I just find too personal to share online, so there may be some weird abstract/metaphorical postings in the future to deal with these emotions.

If you have read this, I thank you. Wishing everyone a bright and beautiful 2017!

Leave a Reply

